Affordable Housing for Athens-Clarke County, Georgia

Board of Commissioners

The Board of Commissioners sets policy and provides general oversight and direction for the organization. In addition, they provide for the on-going management of the authority by hiring an executive director.

Meeting Dates

Regular board meetings are normally held on the last Thursday of the month at 4:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Athens Housing Authority located at 300 S. Rocksprings Street.  All meetings (regular and special called meetings) are posted to our website and submitted to the Athens Banner Herald.


A six-member Board of Commissioners governs the Athens Housing Authority. Commissioners are volunteers from the community. The Athens-Clarke County mayor appoints five of the Commissioners for staggered five-year rotating terms. A Resident Commissioner, with full voting rights, is appointed for a one-year term. The Board of Commissioners acts independently from local government.


Valdon Daniel
James Smith
Vice Chair

Jacqueline Askew

Resident Commissioner

Frank Platt
Michele Pearson
Charlie Maddox
Rick Parker
CEO / Executive Director


Equal Housing Opportunity LogoThe federal Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination in housing because of race, color, national origin, religion, familial status, gender, and disability. The Fair Housing Act ensures that all persons receive equal housing opportunity. For more information about the Fair Housing Act and your rights, go to